Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 12:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Easy jib rigging
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 1:27 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hey everybody, I received an H20 last year for free! It has needed some work but it has good bones. No soft spots! Replaced the comptip, tramp, standing rigging, and most of the running rigging. Needed all cam cleats rebuilt and so on and so forth. I have taken it out a couple of times and I just love it. Found out that it's pretty tough to right w/o a boat lifting the mast tip out of the water. I love that you can have a lot of weight on it and it handles it quite well. I owe it to all of you guys on this forum for all of the information on how to sail and rig.

My first question has to do with cleaning up the tramp. I have the stock jib setup and it really takes a lot of room. I may get into racing in the future but for right now I'm just learning the basics and trying to get some of my family into it. Any easy ways to clean up the tramp? I thought about putting a cam cleat with a fairlead on each side of the mast on the front crossbeam about halfway between the mast and the end of the crossbeam. That would leave quite a bit of room open in the front. I know that I wouldn't be able to fine tune things nearly as much but would allow me to more easily fit 3 people on it w/o having so much to cut your knees on. This a good idea or no?

My next question has to do with the mainsail. I'm pretty sure it's the original '92 sail and it unfortunately tore along the seam that contains the bolt rope. It tore from the bottom about 1/4 of the way up. The bolt rope even came out at one spot. Worth fixing? Or would I be better off just biting the bullet and getting a new one? Or if anyone has a used one they're looking to part with that would be great!

Thanks everyone

Post subject: Re: Easy jib rigging
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:42 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt