Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:36 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2021 5:38 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hey Everyone,

I'm looking at getting either a Hobie Wave or a Hobie Getaway this weekend, I have two that are available in my area with my budget. First off I have spent the better part of a week reading and watching videos about the Wave and Getaway but I'm still wanting more opinions. I live around several lakes, but the winds are always between 6 ~ 10 mph which I realize is on the slow side for wind. I do have a wife and two kids that I would like to have out with me but I'm also new to sailing as well. I've read that the Getaway can be a dog to sail in low winds but I can't seem to find what the minimum wind for a Wave is.

I've spent a good portion of my adult life around lakes, but most of my experience has been with wake boats and jet skis, many many jet skis, however now that I'm a little bit older with kids, I'm wanting to get into something that my entire family can enjoy. I have gone sailing just a handful number of times at the lake I normally go too, but each time I did it was a blast, no smell of gas and two-stroke oil mixing, just the wind and the boat working together. Admittedly I was not the one sailing but started the interest for me.

What I'm trying to decided at the moment is do I go with the Hobie Wave which from everything I've been reading is easier to sail solo and to learn with our do I jump immediately to the Getaway but it seems more complicated to sail as this would be my first time. The biggest benefit to me for the Getaway is the larger boat and the 1000lb weight capacity, however the single sail on the Wave I think would be easier for me to learn, though feel free to correct me if I'm wrong on that!