Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 5:55 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:32 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hello,

I will pick up a new Oasis is a couple of weeks. I am new to kayaking and to this forum. I plan to launch this kayak either from our calm protected beaches which are shelly and pebbly, or from a dock. I would greatly appreciate any feedback on the following:

Could I launch from a beach without wading into the water, similar to a john boat, or would that first step near the bow likely overturn the boat?

Which cart is better for shelly, pebbly beaches, standard or TRAX?

Does either cart float? If so, and I were to wheel the boat into the water such that the wheels were floating off the bottom, could I insert a tool into the scupper holes from above to release and retrieve the cart? Upon returning, has anyone successfully inserted the cart underwater from a body position atop the boat?

Possibly upon my maiden voyage I will quickly have these questions answered.

Thanks,

mountainmeterman

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 12:01 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Since my beginnings into this arena I have found it to be pretty difficult to stay totally dry as it sounds your trying to do, short of using a dock every time my time on the water has involved a fair amount of water contact yes the cart could be removed and retreived but putting it back in might be a tad difficult my standard cart does float.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 2:45 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

HI MMM,

Welcome to the forum and congrats on your new purchase. I assume being in WA water temps are the reason for your inquiries.