Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:41 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2023 8:26 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I am relatively new to hobie, but not so new that I don't notice the lack of discussion and quality info here recently. A little sad it may be the end of an era and possibly the end of quality. Thoughts?

PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2023 9:38 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

This forum slows down in the winter months and especially around Christmas and New Years. Given the explosive growth in kayaking and Hobie sales, things should pick up again in the Spring. But then again, without Matt Miller's daily diligence answering questions and expertly advising folks, and nobody from Hobie really filling that vacuum, maybe folks will just go someplace else for their answers like FaceBook or other non-Hobie forums.

Peter

Last edited by plfinch on Sun Jan 08, 2023 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2023 4:08 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Noticed the same when I joined up, It's all about sailing kayaks and not so much about paddle kayaks like mine.

I would have thought with all the hobies out there this forum would have been a lot more active. Anyhow, there it is :(

PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2023 7:46 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

The forum software here is a huge negative and I'm sure it pushes a lot of users away. Making the forum mobile friendly would be a huge step in keeping the site active.

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2023 6:55 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I think forums, in general, are dying off, unfortunately. I had been an active member here for years and even more so on SOL. That SOL Kayak Fishing Forum was a hot bed of activity several years ago, but it seems more people have moved to FB instead of forums. It's a shame because the organization of information and the ability to search is far worse on FB than on these forums. also, the level of discussion and longevity of posts is there on FB.