Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 9:13 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 6:11 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Aloha I was wondering if anyone else has had a problem with the steering control handle and the little brass fitting that holds the set screw in place. I bought an Adventure about 3 weeks ago. And about 3 minutes into my maiden voyage the brass fitting popped out and the steering crank fell into the hull of the kayak. I contacted my local Hobie dealership and they seemed to be helpful and supposedly a replacement handle is on its way to Hawaii with my name on it. But I was wondering if this is a problem that I may expect to see again. I would appreciate any help as I am new to the Hobie line and although I have this problem, I'm looking to get a Revolution as well.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 12, 2008 11:14 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Aloha 808freediver,

Which island are you on? Who's your dealer? Here on Maui, we have at least a dozen AI's and I haven't heard of a problem with that knob. We use to have problems with the up/down knob in the first years AI's, but they were upgraded, and finally replaced with the up & down pull handles.

Do check, tighten and adjust everything on your Adventure as sometimes they don't make the journey over here well.

Kayaking Bob

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 12:25 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Kayaking Bob; Thanks for the reply; I think tightening the knob at this point would be for Knot; as the brass insert that the set-screw screws into is not secured any longer. (Say that three time fast!) BTW I’m on Oahu. My attempt to fix the problem initially was to heat up the brass collar and pushed it back into the plastic handle, it seemed to work pretty well for about 20 minutes; and as it did previously: the brass collar popped out again.