Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 3:44 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I demoed a T2 yesterday at a Hobie dealer and we had an issue with the mainsail coming out of the mast track at the top. I see that others on the forum have had similar issues, and am concerned this is a problem that will reoccur.

As background, I have been sailing a H16 for 30 years, and have sailed many Getaways and Waves in various locales around the globe. I am looking to replace the H16, and the T2 looked like a good trade-off of performance and durability. I was impressed by the boats performance.

After reading the other posts on the mast track issue, I realize in retrospect that we did about everything wrong when raising the mainsail. First, we were unable to raise it fully which evidently is a definite no-no. But I have done this many times on the H16 - especially later in its life - without issue. Secondly, in trying to fully raise the mainsail, we pulled on the halyard with force - also a non-no. And finally, when the mainsail would not come down, we lowered the mast and then forcibly removed the mainsail which likely distorted the luft rope.

In spite of doing everything wrong, I am still concerned that this can occur even if done correctly as the plastic track on the top section of the mast does not appear to be rigid enough to retain the luft rope. I also noticed that the tracks on the upper and lower portion of the mast were slightly misaligned.

I did find the prior posts about the issue, but can not tell if this is an ongoing issue with the T2. I also found similar post for the H17 and see that Hobie has a retro-fit which appears to replace the upper plastic track with aluminum - suggesting it is an ongoing problem.