Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:38 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:44 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

:? I have been sailing my latest Hobie 18 for only a couple of years and have noticed that the Mast Rotator limiter really slams as I sail. Secondly, even though I am using pretty expensive line on the limiter, due to the repeated slams (which have in fact pulled the jam cleat in the jib loose more than once) I am lucky to get a couple of sails in before the line is shredded.

Lastly, due to the velocity of the movement of the rotator limiter, the jam cleat won't really hold, so I end up having to put a big ugly knot after the jam cleat. :cry:

Solutions would be greatly appreciated as I will be taking a 4 day cruise (yep, will be living on or off of the tramp) down the Chesapeake Bay in a couple of weeks.

<b>THANKS!</b>

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:03 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

What are you doing that makes it slam like that? jibing?

1992 Hobie Cat 18 #16943
Hobie Fleet 198, Rapid City, SD

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:46 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Nope, it slams every time I come about...don't have to gibe.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:22 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I'm so confused! The rotator arm is slamming into what? What line is getting shredded? What does the jib cam have to do with the rotation controls?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 9:11 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Rough water and light wind are usually the conditions that cause the mast (and whole boat) to slam around. Are these the conditions you usually sail in?

Also, just having the mainsheet loose can allow the mast to rotate freely. The forward pull of the mainsheet is what helps to hold the mast & boom in a locked position when it's tensioned.

You could try setting up a boom vang or a positive mast rotation inducer. Both of these are essentially heavy bungee cords that help keep the mast rotated to one side.