Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:36 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 7:33 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Attention all engineers here! I'm a new sailor with an 18, WITHOUT wings. Wish I knew better when I bought it, but hey, I was just boat hungry for the first time. I'm looking to plan an island hopping adventure in the Keys with a friend, and I'm worried that putting my friend, myself, and all our gear on a single trampoline will make things quite uncomfortable. I started playing with the idea of rigging up a two-ish feet long structure from pvc with some sort of tramp material stretched between it, attach it some way across the hulls, just in front of the mast. It'll be used strictly for keeping luggage out of the way due to the lack of wings. Has anyone done this before or have any ideas?

Last edited by guess96 on Wed Jan 06, 2016 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Wed Jan 06, 2016 8:41 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

What kind of weight are you figuring on? I've had up to ~725 lbs (5 young adults & 1 child) on my H18 before, and honestly, it was very nearly a submarine. 550-600 lbs (4 young adults) is a heavy load for the H18. Design load is probably ~285-350 lbs, with a "max" of 500-600 lbs. It's sailable, but you're going to be going ~12-13 mph where you could be going ~16 mph.