Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 8:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 9:00 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I'm pretty new to sailing and this one thing is really confusing me... hopefully this question makes sense lol.

The Hobie 18 has two cleats for the mainsheet - the cleat that controls the traveler car, and another (the ratchet block?) that raises/lowers the boom. I've been cleating off the ratchet block cleat and ignoring it while I'm sailing, only using the traveler car for sail power control. My question is about the ratchet block cleat - should I also be controlling that in addition to the traveler car? And if so, what is its purpose and how do I optimally make use of it?

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 9:15 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

You should primarily be controlling the sail using the mainsheet (the one coming out of the ratchet block). The traveler is a “gross” setting. Pull it all the way in when you go upwind. Ease it off when sailing downwind. The mainsheet is your “fine tune” adjustment. It is much more powerful (7:1 purchase) than the traveler (2:1 purchase) so much easier to handle.

In some cases (very experienced teams), the skipper will control the mainsheet and the crew the traveler, so both can be adjusted on the fly as needed. But for learning and general sailing, set the traveler based on your point of sail and then fine tune the power using the mainsheet.

sm

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 9:41 am 
Site Admin

In conditions where you have to sheet out to keep from flipping... ease the traveler out a bit until you can sail comfortably when sheeted in all the way.

Hobie Cat USA
(Retired 11/7/2022)

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:39 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt