Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 7:00 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Mast leak ?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:43 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Im sure there is a post about this but have to admit I am not very good at searching so I will ask. I put mast from H 18 with comptip in water and have a leak were the comptip and aluminum meet, its right down in the sail track. is the comp tip one solid pice so water can not get into it? if so that would meen the water is in the aluminum part of mast right? I know I need to seal it up and will do so very soon.

thanks
Jay

Post subject: Re: Mast leak ?
PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 12:57 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

The comptip is hollow, but it has foam plugs at each end. There should also be a foam plug in the aluminum section of mast a few inches below the comptip. The luff track on the comptip is a separate piece that snaps onto the main body. I’m wondering if what you were seeing was air escaping from the gap between the luff track and the main comptip.

If you truly do have a leak in the mast, you would probably need to entirely remove the comptip from the mast and re-bed it in epoxy. That would be a fairly involved project and you risk damaging the comptip in the process. Maybe remove the luff track and re-dunk the mast to be sure. Even doing that has some risks though because removing the luff track can also cause damage.

sm

PostPosted: Sat Aug 03, 2019 1:08 pm 
Site Rank - Captain