Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 7:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:01 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Hi All, I am in the market for a new yak. I decided that my Feel Free Lure 13.5 is just too heavy for me to lug it around. I have decided on 3 pedal kayaks and the compass is on the list. I recently rented the compass, revo 11 and a tandem. We had a lot of fun but there were some noticeable differences between the Revo 11 and the Compass. Ahh!!! that SEAT!! - I am brand new to hobie and in a matter of seconds was in love with the Vantage CT seat in the Revo 11. I have a bad back and the vantage ct seat had great lumbar support. The seat on the compass, after enjoying the Revo 11, felt like a cheap seat you buy at walmart. The seat would rise up while peddling fast and my back was constantly hurting. The bungies were a joke to say the least. Did I mention how I loved that Vantage seat? The next issue I experienced was that the Compass had no side handles. Side handles are really helpful in tieing down the kayak and carrying or lifting into a truck without anyone else help. The last issue I had with the compass was standing. I am coming from a 36" wide kayak with lots of stand-ability. The Compass, while more stable than the Revo 11, didn't seem to have a great standing platform. I believe most of these issues can be remedied but I wanted to get Compass owner's ideas and help to see if the search for the holy grail should come to an end.

My Research on the Vantage seat: