Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 2:24 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Dented 16' Hobie mast
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2009 9:21 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Pulled a bone head and tried to right the boat by pushing up on the tip of the mast and indented the mast about 1/2 inch.

Anyone know if this can be welded to strengthen and reuse and if so what type of Aluminum material the mast is made of?

Otherwise I'm looking to replace the mast here in Northern Minnesota

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 4:37 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I'm no expert but I do know that I had a mast that had a dent in it about a third if the way up from the bottom. Notice I used the word 'had'. It worked for a while.. and then on a big wind day I ended up going over sideways and sure enough it gave and I had a very bent and unusable mast.

Again, I don't know, but i'm not sure welding is going to help anything. It may just be a dead mast.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 5:19 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I had dropped my mast once and put a fairly nice dent in it right below the top. By using a tree stump as an anvil, I was able to take it out by placing a block of wood inside and pounding out the dent. It really depends on where the dent is.

Just curious, how did you dent the mast by picking it up to right the boat?

Sam

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2010 6:20 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

I have an extra 16 mast down here in Columbus Indiana,It needs a new base...

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:31 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I have an extra mast used only once at nationals in Fla. selling for 500.00 in Tucson AZ If intrested e-mail me at [email protected]

PostPosted: Mon Jan 04, 2010 4:04 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand