Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Rudder question
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 11:07 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Greetings,
I am new to Hobies and have been sailing an H16 with a neighbor. On our particular H16 we seem to be having trouble keeping the rudders seated all the way down when the wind is in the high teens to low twenties which results in a lot of "tiller tug". Is there any type of spring tensioner that could be used? There is a hole in each rudder and another on the rudder frame that might be used for that purpose similar to the kickup rudder on Sunfish. Any ideas or suggestions greatly appreciated. I feel like the rake of the rudders is close to right because at lower speeds when the rudders are seated properly the tiller pressure is fine. Thanks
Mike

PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:55 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Hi Mike -
Wonder if you checked the FAQ's first
http://www.hobiecat.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=467

Also run a search for subject "Rudders" and especially "Rudder Rake" There is a lot of detail on drilling and re-drilling rudders, lock down cams and etc.

Welcome and good luck! 8)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 1:24 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

You may want to check (or replace) your rudder cams. Had a similar situation where the boat had to almost sitting still in the water in order to get the rudders to lock down. And, as you said, too much speed would make them kick up ( at least partially) again. I changed the rudder cams, added spacers and "Bingo." It sails like a different boat. Smooth, no vibrations and responsive.

The only springs I'm aware of in the H16 rudder system are the plunger springs (not externally visible) that lock the cams/rudders into place. Hope this helps.

Happy Sailing,

David

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2006 2:02 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt