Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:03 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: new hobie 16 questions
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 4:03 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I'm interested in getting into sailing, and I'm looking to purchase this hobie 16:
http://austin.craigslist.org/boa/169762979.html

Basically what yall know is more or less than what I know. I am a complete newbie when it comes to sailing, and have actually never sailed but would like to get into the sport, so what should I ask exactly?

Also, how much should I expect a new trampoline to cost, as well as new ropes (he said the boat needs new ropes, not sure what all that means)

Anyways, please let me know everyone's thoughts.
thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 6:35 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

Hmmm, looks like you are from Austin, TX. Depending on where on Lake Travis this is you could take me along.
Your first question should be ... Is there a title for the boat? If not, do not consider it as a boat that you would ever get legally on a lake in TX.
Second question should be... Are the hulls solid? If they are not, look for one with solid hulls.
Ropes... as in new mainsheet, jib sheet and haul yards and possibly tramp lacing. Generally expected when you get something used that has been outside for a while. Could be as cheap as $50.00, could be as much as $150.00 if you want something fancy.
Trampoline... could be as cheap as $250.00 for a non Hobie brand aftermarket tramp or about $400.00 for a class legal Hobie tramp.
Here is some other stuff that I noticed on the pics... When the seller states the boat is a 80's model he probably means that more literarily (as in 1980 AD) not as the boat is from the 80's (as a decade). The sail # might actually indicate that the boat is even older than that. Ask for the hull #.