Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 2:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:18 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

A friend of a friend has a Hobie 16 for sale, about US$1200 (no trailer). I went to see it and it looks good, he seemed a decent guy. First thing he showed me was a spot on the top of one hull (I believe about the size of a hand) that was soft when he got it, but he repaired it.

He repaired it by drilling 2 holes and injecting some kind of resin I think. It doesn't seem soft anymore, although I have no experience with soft spots. He said it was probably from someone stepping on the hull - it was about a step forward of the trampoline.

The only other damage was a small piece around the top of the rudder mount, bit like in this picture

he repaired it but it cracked again.

Any tips/advice welcome, on my first Hobie purchase.

Thanks

PS my friend says he's very trustworthy and would be upfront about problems.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2015 11:35 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

That doesn't look repaired before...looks original damage in my opinion.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 8:08 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Sorry when I saw the picture in my post like that I realized it distracts from the text hugely... my main question is about the repaired soft spot, is it OK to buy a boat that has had a soft spot?

Regarding the pic, thats from the internet, just to show the part of the boat where it broke. Basically now it looks like a piece of cracked fibreglass with some epoxy holding it together. Not pretty, but is it critical?

Thanks

PostPosted: Wed Jun 24, 2015 11:22 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

A hand sized soft spot that's now hard wouldn't bother me much. The repair above the gudgeon is not critical. That's just a hole for the rudder pin to go through....nothing structural about it.