Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:16 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Pitchpole
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:02 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Hello,

Yesterday was my second time I sailed my h16. I am a noob and have just little experience in sailing when I had my previous self-made small catamaran. Anyways, the question is in the topic. How in hell do I stop this thing when the wind is coming from my stern? I know that when I go against the wind or sideways to the wind, when the (censored) hits the fan I simply release the main sheet or turn to the wind and the cat stops. But what do I do when the wind is behind me? If I release the sheet it will go even faster.. I imagine..If I try to pull it in, I would not have enough time before the pitchpole. If i turn the boat it will capsize.. soo, please help a newbie :)

Best regards:
Alex

PS: also in which case do I move the main sheet block on its rail, to the side of the boat? When the wind is behind me?

Post subject: Re: Pitchpole
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2015 9:35 am 
Site Rank - Captain

hmmm good question, it's my first year sailing anything, but I'll give you "what I'd do" and wait for the correction and correct answers from those who actually know. First of all let me say I've never sailed in enough wind to pitchpole sailing downwind personally maybe 12-15 mph wind has been the best I've had.
If i was I wouldn't let myself get into that angle that far, meaning I'd feather out of it way before that happened. = Tack more.... staying safe, but on a larger body of water perhaps thats not an option?

On the P.s. I move it out going down wind, and sometimes in light wind it seems to help, in good wind i keep mine maybe 3-6" off center.
Looking forward to the real answers to come,........ Good luck and just keep trying different things with the boat that's what I've been doing all summer.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2015 12:45 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand