Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 4:45 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:07 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I've got a new to me 1975 hobie 16. On my second sail the winds were around 12mph with gusts to 20mph. We ended up getting dismasted after a twisted toggle broke and the starboard shroud came loose. I've since replaced all the hardware and I'm ready to head back out. I'm not new to sailing, my other boat is a capri 14, but I am new to hobies. This weekend the wind is going to be winds at 17mph. With gusts to 25mph. I want to go out, but I'm wondering if those winds might be a bit much for a new cat sailor. I've got no traps as I'm replacing the trap wires and I still don't have a harness. I'd probably be solo. I was told sailing without the jib creates terrible weather helm and isn't worth it. My sail does have a single set of reef points..your thoughts?

ImageDemasted off Dunedin Causeway - Sat. 10/31/15 by Dom, on Flickr

ImageOur broken chain plate which caused our demasting off Dunedin Causeway on Saturday Oct. 31st, 2015 by Dom, on Flickr

ImageBroken rudder on our Hobie 16 - Sat. 10/31/15 by Dom, on Flickr

ImageA demasted Hobie 16 .... Dunedin Causeway Sat. 10/31/15 by Dom, on Flickr

ImageDominic & Matt sailing our new Hobie 16 off Dunedin Causeway - Wednesday 10.28.15 by Dom, on Flickr

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 8:37 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Well, the boat itself can handle a lot of wind. If it's in good condition, the worse that can happen is a capsize. Normally, I would recommend that you work your way up to the stronger winds but since you've had previous sailing experience, I'd say "just go with your gut !!!" One thing to know is that the H16 tacks a lot differently (it's more difficult) than a Capri, especially in strong winds ( a lot easier to get stuck in irons) !!! You might be able to find some demo footage on YouTube !!! :D

David

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 10:22 pm