Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 5:35 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun May 29, 2016 10:24 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I apologize if there is a thread that addresses this. I searched but did not find one.
I took my 1974 H16, recently acquired and repaired-or so I thought-out to the lake. I left a bit of mast rake, just to experiment. The main wasn't sheeted in too tightly because I was trying to figure a course in a fickle, swirling wind. A bit of a gust from forward port filled the sail, making the popping sound the nylon makes when it snaps into shape. This was instantly followed by the sickening sound of the forestay snapping just a few inches above the bridal.
We self rescued without incident, so all was well. I'm new to sailing in general, but this failure seemed really like a an anomaly. I'll replace all the wires/cables this week, but I still don't know exactly what caused the catastrophic failure. Any thoughts from those of you who are more experienced than I am would be most helpful.
Thank you!

Last edited by Perry_D on Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 6:20 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Normally on an H16, with the jib installed normally, the luff wire in the jib takes all of the forestay load. If it breaks, the regular forestay would be there to take the load.

When you rigged, was your jib halyard tight enough to take the load off the forestay? And was it the forestay that broke, or the jib's luff wire? Did you somehow not have both the luff wire and the forestay in place?

'00 H16 #104691
'78 H16 #32692 ex-rental [gone]
Old Holsclaw trailer
My Hobie 16 pages

PostPosted: Mon May 30, 2016 8:52 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand