Return to Hobie.com

Hobie Forums

It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 12:48 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:40 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 8:34 pm
Posts: 5
I am going to look at a used Prindle 16 tomorrow. Does anyone know if I am supposed to get a title from the seller in FL? We just moved so I am not really sure. I asked the seller the year and he told me sometime in the 90s but he is not sure. This sounds a little sketchy since I assume this would be on the title, not to mention that I am pretty sure this Prindle is from the 80s at the latest based on my research. Any thoughts are appreciated!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 1:15 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:26 am
Posts: 310
Good luck finding a title for these old beach cats. None of the Hobies I ever bought had them. Technically boats 16' and up need to be registered with the state (even with no motor). Luckily for me every Hobie I buy is a 15.99 ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:17 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 4:35 am
Posts: 149
Location: Opelika/Lake Martin, Alabama
I don't think a title is required. I purchased a H16 that was kept in Florida but was registered in Tennessee because that was where the owners main residence was, and the boat did not have a title. I live in Alabama and all that was required to register my boat was a bill of sale and a copy of the Tennessee registration. The boat and trailer did not require a title, in fact, I didn't even have to buy a tag for the trailer. You can check Florida boating laws on line. Hope this helps.

_________________
Marty
1984 H16 Yellow Nationals, "Yellow Fever"
Lake Martin, 'Bama.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 5:47 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 5:26 pm
Posts: 2
A quick update FWIW. I recently purchased an '81 H16. It had never been registered like most 15.9's :D
Florida has a form for Vessel Bill of Sale. It has a spot to explain why the boat was never titled. You need to present the form with signatures, no copies. There is also the Application for Title/Registration. The law was changed in April 2014 to include 16-26 foot, even without a motor. The boat is now titled, registered and insured. One less thing to sort out in the event of a claim or stop on the water. Don't ask my opinion on liars, err lawyers...


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
© Hobie Cat Company. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group