Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 6:50 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hi all, I am new to the forum and to cat sailing. I am looking forward to getting in to Hobie sailing but my sailing experience is limited. I have a Super Snark that I sail and I have sailed a Sunfish once. I know sailing a Hobie is going to be a totally different experience than sailing a Snark but it looks like a lot of fun. I have been sailing the Snark for a few years and am ready to step up to another level. I am planning on buying a used Hobie 16 in late winter or early spring. With any luck hopefully I will be able to take it out as soon as it warms up. Oh,also. I have a 12 year old son that I want to be able to sail with me and I think the fact that the 16 has a jib is good because then he can help sail the boat and he won't get board. He gets board in the Snark because it is slow and there is only one sail so it is hard to get him to go out with me. After perusing the forum for a while I can see that there is a wealth of information and experience here and I am sure I will need a lot of guidance from everyone. So a thank you to everyone in advance for all of your advice and fellowship.

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 1:38 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

I'm a bit to the northwest of Concord, NH. Feel free to send me a PM and I'll send you my phone number and email.

You're more than welcome to come up some weekend and I can show you and your son the boat. My boat is set up and ready to go as I live on a lake. Even if there is no breeze, he can see what trapping out is all about, and you can get an idea of how the boat is set up. I'll be sailing until around 1 December, depending upon wind and schedule. Usually I stop a week or so before the ice comes in, but it depends.