Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 3:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 8:58 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hello I was wandering if anyone would have an idea on how to fix my mast step to the trampoline it’s not flush, it is my first time owning a hobie but my father had one, but he sold his when I was was 8 but know that I’m 17 I wanted to get back to my roots and buy a hobie and learn to sail, the problem is that the mast step dosnt fit flush like on the other hobies I’ve seen, what should I do to fix this , when I got the boat it was a quarter of an inch off the trampoline with the rivets barley holding on , i clamped it down to put new rivets in but it’s still not flush. Please help.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:23 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Pictures would help.

PostPosted: Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:16 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

My guess, without seeing it, would be that the holes in the crossbar have corroded or worn out and opened up and the rivets aren’t able to “grab” properly. The easiest solution in this case would be to drill out the holes to 1/4” diameter and install larger, 1/4” rivets.

sm

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:03 am 
Site Admin

This might help:

mmiller wrote:
Hobie 16 mast step replacement.

This was written up in the Hotline:

http://www.hobiecat.com/support/pdfs/h16-step-replace.pdf

Not that hard to do usually, but corrosion around the post, through the crossbar, can make it tougher.

Hobie Cat USA
(Retired 11/7/2022)

PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:00 pm 
Site Rank - Captain