Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2021 10:34 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I'm still pretty new to my 16 and am working up to taking it out solo so I can have more days on the water. My biggest stumbling block right now is how to launch and rig by myself.

It seems like if I tie the boat up against the dock, thats a pretty good way to damage the boat.

I'm looking for advice on how to hold the boat while I park the car. I know I could uses the center of the ramp and tie the boat away from the docks using both docks. But won't make me any friends when this place is busy, and I'd rather not rely on asking a random person for help.

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2021 11:35 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Just my $0.02 having put in with varying levels of help (experienced vs "rope holder" lol) in a public and busy ramp for a few years:

1. Find the most available slip to put into where the boat can be tied to 2 cleats on the dock and blow downwind without hitting another boat or dock while you go and park your vehicle / trailer.
2. Have the mast stepped and sails up before putting in. This would mean with the trailer still connected to your car for counterbalance. Step the mast solo using the gin pole method and a hand or electric winch - this can be tricky, but YouTube is good!
3. Keep your rudders up and your jib and main sheets loose so the sails can luff downwind while your boat is tied to the dock and you're parking the car/trailer.
4. Slowly back the boat into the water and have your 2 ropes ready for your cleats. Launch the boat with the ropes long enough to be in your hand and around the cleats as well so you don't lose the boat or the ropes. Once the boat is off the trailer, still holding the rope(s), hope up onto the dock and pull the ropes in and tie off so that your boat is held away from the dock a few feet with the wind. Now park the car and trailer and come back.