Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 11:08 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:06 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Just started sailing a Hobie 16 (1983) and I purchsed the "Mama Bob" that Murrays.com recommended. One of the local H-16 sailors said I was crazy to put something that big on the boat. He recommended the smaller Baby Bob. I read a lot about "Baby Bob" in the H-16 forum...is this the best choice for keeping the boat from turtling? The choices I see are Hobie Bob, Mama Bob and Baby Bob (http://www.murrays.com/mm5/merchant.mvc ... re_Code=MS)
and they say that Mama Bob is recommended for the H-16. Any opinions?

I'm new to catamarans, but have been sailing mono-hulls for years, so flipping and righting doesn't scare me, I just don't want to turtle it when sailing in Lake Michigan in early June, wetsuit or not! Okay, maybe I'm a wuss...

Thanks from this newbie!

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 04, 2008 5:57 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Hey Spinnaker. A better choice for your boat would be Hobie part 30115, the baby bob. The mama will work, but it's giant! You'll love sailing the H 16!!! Hook up with your local fleet and you'll learn more about your boat in one day than you would sailing solo for years.

For parts try giving one of these guys a call. They are closer to you and can offer local help if you need it...and hopefully support local Hobie sailing.

WOLF'S MARINE
250 W. MAIN STREET
BENTON HARBOR, MI 49022
Phone: 1-269-926-1068
E-mail: [email protected]

AQUARIUS SAIL WISCONSIN
N34 W24041 CAPITOL DRIVE
PEWAUKEE, WI 53072
Phone: 1-262-691-3794
E-mail: [email protected]

Hope that helps.

Post subject: bob bob barran
PostPosted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:59 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Are you sure you need a bob? The 16 floats on its side pretty nicely. In order to turtle you usually have to get blown over and then there is enough wind to blow on the bottom of the tramp and push it into a turtle.