Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:39 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Oct 02, 2016 3:54 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Hi All,
What arrangements for the main downhaul is preferred on the hobie cat 17?
Do i just fix it after setting the trim up or do i work with it like the main sheet all the time (if needed)??
I'm new in this game and i just put up the main sail for the first time and realized some parts must
be missing. Help needed.

Secondly, i have two cleats on the upper part of the boom just above where it's connected to the mast.
What do i put in the different cleats??
Help needed.

//mats

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 2:18 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

The best downhaul setup is a 6:1 system with exit blocks mounted on each side of the mast so the line can be run out to each wing and adjusted from the trapeze. You don't adjust the downhaul as much as you adjust the mainsheet, but you still want it to be easy to adjust when needed.

The two cleats on the top of the boom are (1) cleat for the mast rotation line and (2) stock downhaul cleat. If you set up the system described above, the second cleat isn't needed.

sm

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 5:27 am 
Hobie Approved Guru

It's not particularly clear, but here's the downhaul / mast rotation set-up on my boat:

PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:26 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

srm wrote:
The best downhaul setup is a 6:1 system with exit blocks mounted on each side of the mast so the line can be run out to each wing and adjusted from the trapeze. You don't adjust the downhaul as much as you adjust the mainsheet, but you still want it to be easy to adjust when needed.

The two cleats on the top of the boom are (1) cleat for the mast rotation line and (2) stock downhaul cleat. If you set up the system described above, the second cleat isn't needed.

sm

Thanks for info. Question, how much do you work with the downhaul? What preferred settings shall I apply?