Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2021 5:50 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

My wife offered me an H17 and i don't know mutch about it, sometime ago i use to be crew with a friend, but i'm a beginner.

How can i identify the model and the year? I think it is h17 sport, from 1995 to 1999, it has jib, but i'm not sure.

The seller told her that the mainsail is used without boom or boomlet, and it came without one, and sails seems to be the original, is it possible?

When I tried it, it took a lot of strength to control the rudder, can you help to find the problem?

Thanks

[img][img]https://i.postimg.cc/YGWQtQq2/Whats-App-Image-2021-04-29-at-19-03-08.jpg[/img][img]

[img][img]https://i.postimg.cc/hJw9F2n3/Whats-App-Image-2021-04-29-at-19-30-13.jpg[/img][/img]

[img][img]https://i.postimg.cc/XppntkVt/182535540-218807349621335-1953624627193907412-n.jpg[/img][/img]

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2021 8:39 pm 
Hobie Approved Guru

From the hull graphics, it looks to be a late '80s boat. There should be a number engraved on the transoms and the last two digits are the model year - if it was made in the USA (don't know where you're from, put your location in your profile so we can give better answers).

It is probably an aftermarket Sport conversion kit - the 17 Sport from Hobie wasn't introduced until the early / mid '90s. The mast rotation arm is a dead give away - with no boom, there's no place to cleat the adjustment line. (Also, don't have someone pull the boat by the bow spreader bar. If it bends or breaks, it's $$$$ - if you can find one.) The plate on the clew of the main serves the same purpose as the boomlet.