Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 5:44 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Tacking without jib
PostPosted: Mon Feb 19, 2007 11:37 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I am new to the hobie and normally sale with the jib but as it was a bit windy the other day and I furled the jib before I went out, thinking it might make life easier. Note there are no other hobies where I am.
I had a lot of trouble tacking, and sailing to windward generally. Is there a trick to it? Is it possible my mast is raked too far back or something? At the first mark I unfurled the jib and everything was sweet.
Thoughts?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:09 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Hi hobie14nz

I think all cats are difficut to tack without gibs. I'll the experienced guys answer that. I have a 16 and I know it virtually impossible to tack without using the gib.

Where in NZ are you? I'm in Gisborne. Where do you normally sail?

Anthony

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 12:38 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Tacking without the jib is very tough be do able. I am not expert so I will not give the details but there are some guys on here that will tell you exactly how to do it.

Know this, once you can tack the 14 without a jib you will fly through tacks on other boats.

Post subject: ?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:56 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Gree/Guys:

The trick to tacking without a jib is easy. You MUST crack out about 2-3 feet of mainsheet and recleat the second you go head to wind or you will go into irons. If you do SIMPLE, push the boom and rudders away from you and you will back into the tack.

Hope this helps,

Doug

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:43 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Hey, great to see some Kiwis on the site! Where are you guys sailing. I'm in the Marlborough Sounds. top of the South Island, so if you're ever up/down this way give me a yell.