Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 9:47 am 
Site Rank - Captain

I can see that I am asking most of the questions on this forum. I am new to this and don't have anybody around to go out with. It seems like there would be more cat sailors in a place like this, but so far I haven't made the connection. So, I hope to learn a thing or two from the cat sailors on this forum.

If I sail out in the Gulf, beyond the breakers, and capsize, will the waves make it more difficult to right the boat? I was out there yesterday and I was bouncing around quite a bit. I am so glad the wind wasn't high enough for that to have been an issue, but there will be days when it will.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 12:52 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

Never had to right my Wave, but I have had to right a Hobie 16, single handed in reasonably large swells. Your size/weight will make all the difference. I'm 6'-2" and 240lbs. so I might have an edge.

Same rules should apply. Make sure the main is uncleated and the sheet is free to run. Drag the mast around about bows are 45 degrees into wind so the wind will be your friend as the boat starts to come out of the water. Once the boat / mast is out of the water make sure you have somewhere to grab on the windward side (a) prevent the boat from sailing off and (b) having the wind carry the mast / sail over to the opposing side. (don't ask me how I know).

bill

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2014 11:48 am 
Site Rank - Admiral