Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:47 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 8:37 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

This is my first post because I am a beginner ocean off-shore fishing kayaker. I deep-sea and offshore in large center counsels but want to begin angling in kayak. I had a Hobie Quest that a renter left on shore and it went out to sea on high tide... arghh! I also want to be able to use it to snorkel access reefs, conch diving, etc.

My wife and I are going to purchase two new/used fishing kayaks to fish/snorkerl in Little Cayman on calm days (winds less than 8 knots) both inside and outside reef, deep and shallow waters, never any real surf or rough seas, and in shallow and deep deep water. We catch a lot of large fish and aggressive fish (10# barracuda, 10# grouper and sapper, Tarpon 5# to 50#, hoping for a Black fin tuna #5 to 40#). I have read a lot about the differences between Sit-in-kayaks (SIK) and sit-on-top kayaks (SOT) but never consulted other anglers. So please chime in with your recommendations and why based on your experience.

1. What are the benefits of a SOT vs SIK in ocean offshore fishing?
2. Is Mirage system have any good benefits in off-shore type fishing?
3. Why is a Hobie Angler worth the extra$ rather than a Quest?
4. How much stand-up fishing have you done and if so you probably recommend a SOT with a swiveling chair, correct?
5. Bottom fishing and casting...

Any advice is appreciated, I intend to purchase kayaks two before August.
My wife was really happy with her Quest-11' because was each to track and was light weight. I am 230# and seek comfort and stability cause I am out for 2-3t hours
Thanks!
Terry

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 2:56 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt