Return to Hobie.com

Hobie Forums

It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 1:50 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Sun Apr 24, 2016 9:52 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 11:56 am
Posts: 66
Location: United Kingdom, Hampshire
I've also updated to the TotalScan transducer having had the LSS2 hanging over the side for some time. I personally do not like swing arms off the kayak so I went with a protected hull mounted option.

http://www.saltwaterkayakfisherman.com/2016/04/upgrade-lowrance-totalscan-all-in-one.html

_________________
Follow my blog @ Saltwater Kayak Fisherman
Watch my videos on You Tube
Team Hobie GB
Lowrance Pro Staff
YakAttack Pro Staff
Hook1 Crew


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 3:18 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:02 pm
Posts: 77
Location: S. Texas
Well I finally got my 7ti. Last trip my dragonfly 5 disappointed me for the last time. Glad I bought the gear protection from bass pro. Made it easy to acquire the 7ti. I got the bracket for the side mount transducer set up, but would like to see if anyone is going to offer a underneath option.

_________________
All Fisherman are liars except you and me, but sometimes I wonder about you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2016 5:39 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:25 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Jaco, Costa Rica
If it was me, I would do like Scrumpy did above. You want to avoid as much noise around the deck area as possible, for fish landing, fighting, etc. More often than not, less is better. I like the way Scrumpy did the mod, all you have to do is install the scupper cart on the water before landing and you will have avoided any bottom mishaps that could damage the transducer.

Luckily for me, I have an extra scupper hole in the rear of the TI for any installation via PVC mod. For my Revo 11, there isn't going to be a fish finder, they tend not to like the surf and for quick trips out, not needed, less is better.

_________________
Mark
Costa Rica Kayak Guide
http://www.cryaker.com
Tandem Island- 2013
Sport - 2014
Revolution 11-2015


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 5:33 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:02 pm
Posts: 77
Location: S. Texas
Cr i know I won't like the arm mount but I also fish shallow for redfish and often over oysters. I would consider buying a underneath mount if someone makes it. I don't get much time off between work and family, so making a subpar mount isn't something I want to try. Sure I could PROBABLY make one but it would be crappy. Mtm and scrumpy have made some nice ones.

_________________
All Fisherman are liars except you and me, but sometimes I wonder about you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Wed Jun 01, 2016 3:57 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:02 pm
Posts: 77
Location: S. Texas
Ok I was able to get my Lowrance 7ti. For those who are interested Bass Pro was easy to deal with. The gear guard warranty was worth it for those who may be considering it. I got a ram mount transducer arm for my transducer. I didn't want to get to crazy. Eventually I'm getting a boat and will use this setup for that. I will just buy the small transducer for my kayak and switch the head unit back and forth. I hope to get out and use it soon. Excuse my garage, fishing before organization. That's my buddies ocean kayak affectionately called "the lemon"

Image

_________________
All Fisherman are liars except you and me, but sometimes I wonder about you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:49 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 11:47 am
Posts: 13
How do you like the Ti? I've heard mixed reviews and I feel like I can't trust most reviews on the internet anymore...

Ive heard you can't use CHIRP and totalscan at the same time?

David


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 5:46 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:25 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Jaco, Costa Rica
Getbent, that Elite-7 TI looks sharp. I plan on getting one also so as to do my own tracking recording with mapping. What I like about the TI is the faster processor and very bright screen. Will work well in the equator sun.
As far as transducer mounting, yeah it's a stickler if you go with the totalscan. On my TI I don't have a lowrance ready scupper plate so I will be forced to use my rear scupper hole for a permanent mount. I have some ideas, similar to this one, but I would use PVC instead and going to search for a different mount instead of that metal one. The only issue will be it's going to stick out the bottom slightly, no place to hide. Oh well, I don't peddle much these days on the tandem island. LOL, a TI on a TI.
http://www.theplastichull.net/2016/06/0 ... k-install/

Anyone know where to find this mount??
Image

_________________
Mark
Costa Rica Kayak Guide
http://www.cryaker.com
Tandem Island- 2013
Sport - 2014
Revolution 11-2015


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 7:15 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 2:02 pm
Posts: 77
Location: S. Texas
Cr just so you know I don't think that transducer is being used at all. In my pic is what I got along with the metal bracket. I think I read somewhere they did away with the transducer you have in the pic.

_________________
All Fisherman are liars except you and me, but sometimes I wonder about you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 11:05 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Old Salt

Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 5:25 pm
Posts: 384
Location: Jaco, Costa Rica
If it isn't available (call Navico Mon.), no problem. I can make the metal mount work. In fact, it probably would be better. I would mount it through the rear scupper hole of the TI using 1 1/2 PVC with screw cap on top. The PVC would be bolted to the main metal mount (will have to get creative here so the transducer main plate doesn't move, but through force alone it would maintain itself against the hull), I would mount the transducer normally to the metal mount, but turn the second metal piece downwards to help protect the transducer (wonder if it would effect signal? May have to play with angle/depth to find the correct compromise). The PVC would be bolted through with all three pieces.

Should work well with some protection from being struck. Is very close to my seat and can easily be reached for any debris that may gather.

Negatives: Could be struck, but so could it with an arm over the side. One more thing to worry about getting your line ensnared in with fish on, but so could an arm over the side. Effect speed of the TI? So would an arm, but an arm could easily be pulled out of the water if pedaling. Not so easy with the scupper mount. But then again I rarely pedal for speed, so not an issue.

_________________
Mark
Costa Rica Kayak Guide
http://www.cryaker.com
Tandem Island- 2013
Sport - 2014
Revolution 11-2015


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2016 11:12 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 4:59 am
Posts: 62
Location: Algonac, Michigan
I'm just gonna place this here :wink: 8)

Image

Image

Worth the $59. Trust me!! :wink: 8)

_________________
Image
2017 PA14 Dune
Lake St. Clair
St. Clair Flatts
St. Clair River and Channels
3x Michigan Master Angler Awards


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2016 3:43 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:03 am
Posts: 218
Location: Bundaberg QLD, Australia
johnnybravo wrote:
I'm ready. :)
Image
The Lowrance GoFree Controller app works perfect on my iPad.


Is the chart on your iPad coming from the Lowrance or is it another app? I thought you could only mirror the Lowrance on the gofree app.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2016 10:08 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:58 pm
Posts: 2
May I ask why you had enough for you raymarine unit? I am actually choosing in between


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 3:34 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Wed May 14, 2014 3:18 am
Posts: 132
John_h wrote:
johnnybravo wrote:
I'm ready. :)
Image
The Lowrance GoFree Controller app works perfect on my iPad.


Is the chart on your iPad coming from the Lowrance or is it another app? I thought you could only mirror the Lowrance on the gofree app.


The iPad is running the Navionics app.

_________________
Image

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:00 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Captain

Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 7:20 am
Posts: 131
Location: Bulgaria
Yes, this is Navionics app. I use this program because additional've installed Sonar Server.
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image

btw, Hobie released a new Lowrance ready cover plate, which is compatible with TotalScan transducer.


https://youtu.be/G7-zBK2_ibU

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance elite TI
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 2:26 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:03 am
Posts: 218
Location: Bundaberg QLD, Australia
Nice setup. The sonar server looks interesting.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
© Hobie Cat Company. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group