Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:57 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Fishfinder
PostPosted: Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:10 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hi guys, I've been reading up on this forum for the last couple months but this is my first time posting. I'm gearing up for a Hobie PA 17t and am looking around for a fishfinder to go with it. I know that Hobie has a transducer mount that's compatible with Lowrance, so I was looking at the Lowrance Elite-Ti and Lowrance HOOK2 in the 7 or 9 inch displays. I'm wondering if any of you have practical experience with these two models? My biggest concern about the Elite-Ti is that it can't run the CHIRP and structure scan simultaneously. That would bother me. Otherwise it sounds like a good unit. My understanding is that the HOOK2 fishfinders have autotuning, which is cool, but they are pretty new so not a lot of people have experience with them or know what the bugs are. I just don't want to drop a lot of money and have a lemon on my hands. Also, I don't really understand how the HOOK2 would be much different from the Elite-Ti. Basically, I'm looking for 2D sonar with CHIRP, down and side imaging, and GPS.

My third option is a Humminbird Helix in the 7 or 9 inch displays. Of course, the Hobie transom mount isn't compatible and I don't want to bother with hanging the fishfinder off the side. I've heard of BerleyPro but don't know if they have a transducer adapter that will work for this transducer. Also, unsure of the quality of the image with a BerleyPro adapter. Does anybody have experience with this? Honestly, if BerleyPro had an transducer adapter for the Humminbird Helix fishfinders and I knew if worked well and gave a good image, then I would go with that. The difference in money doesn't bother me.

I'd appreciate any insight or help.

Post subject: Re: Fishfinder
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:09 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt