Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:56 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu Mar 22, 2018 12:35 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I've read most of the related posts, and "think" I have an idea of what I need, but am looking to the experience here to help me outfitting a Hobie Outback.
I’m new to kayak fishing (aside from my inflatable). 

From reading through the forum, it seems like the Hobie Trax 2-30 would be the best option for a cart to work not only on the soft sand, but pulling it 100’ down a driveway/grass to store on my patio. Does that sound right?

Upgrading to the sailing rudder and turbo fins seems to be a no-brainer. 

I’ve got a Helix 7 FF/GPS and a Noqua power pro 10amp/hr battery. I’d like to make this a portable mount, so I can unhook it from my kayak (battery and Helix not transducer), and take it on my friends Grady to network with his Helix and transducer. 
I saw a video on youtube where Adventure Outdoors mounted the Helix and power pro on PVC board, on the right side slightly forward of the pedal drive. My concern is the Noqua doesn’t look waterproof should you take waves, spray, or a flip. Would I be better off mounting a Yak Attack Cellblok on a GT175 gear trak? It seems I could plug any holes in the Cellblok with Oxguard, and with the small size of the Noqua the extra cabling could fit inside the Cellblok. Am I missing anything?

Reading the forum, its seems like upgrading the Helix transducer from XNT 9 SI 180 T to a XHS 9 HDSI 180 T is worth the $100. On the Berleypro site, they have a $59 transducer mount for Humminbird/Hobie, does anyone have experience with this transducer using this mount?