Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:10 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 7:45 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hi, I have never used a kayak before for fishing. I have been researching different ones for roughly a year now. The Native Titan 10 looked nice but apparently can have rudder cable issues. I know it's not on the open market yet but would the 2019 Outback be good for a river as well as a lake? River fishing would be in winter, but not a large river with moderate rapids at worst. In lake conditions could the 2019 Outback handle moderate chop (low level white caps) without fear of capsizing or being unable to control the kayak? The general opinions I've read so far seem to be highly favorable of the new Outback so I'm looking for advice from experienced kayak anglers. Thank you.

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2018 6:57 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

I have 33 years of whitewater kayaking experience. I started kayak fishing from an 13' Ocean Kayak "Trident," which is a paddle kayak. After a couple of years of paddle kayak fishing, a friend got an Outback. I tried it, and was instantly sold on the advantages of a pedal kayak for fishing. I bought a 13' Revolution, and do almost all of my fishing from it. The only time I use my Trident is when I'm fishing in a shallow river. Because of the risk of damaging my Mirage Drive and my rudder, I only use my Revolution in rivers in which the water is reliably more than about three feet deep. If you use a Mirage Drive kayak in a shallow and/or rocky river, sooner or later you will damage or break your Mirage Drive and/or your rudder. And probably sooner, rather than later. That would be an expensive mistake.