Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:25 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: New outback 2019
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 11:46 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Has anyone used the new Outback in the open ocean? What I am asking is how it preformed in a swell. Off Newport Or Dana Point. All the videos I have seen are filmed in still waters.
Also how does it preform in reverse, IE turning?

I like all the new hand rails but my Outback is only 2 years old. It has me thinking about trade in value now.

Mark F.

Post subject: Re: New outback 2019
PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 2:47 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

There is a video on Youtube that shows the OB in surf conditions but its pretty calm. Water comes over the bow very easily which is very disappointing. I'm no expert but I don't know why Hobie would design it that way. It definitely cuts through the waves well.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:52 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

I think they designed it that way so it would flush all the blood, slime, and urine off the deck saving the hosing and cleaning of it later. Definitely going to use waterproof Plano boxes. :lol:

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:52 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

LoneWolf wrote:
There is a video on Youtube that shows the OB in surf conditions but its pretty calm. Water comes over the bow very easily which is very disappointing. I'm no expert but I don't know why Hobie would design it that way. It definitely cuts through the waves well.