Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:22 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 12:25 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

I am a newbie and have the revolution mirage 11, I have bought a sail kit and sidekicks for it. I am trying to work out if it’s worth getting the furling kit?
The downside is all the extra hardware to mount on the hull and the extra time setting up to get on the water. Can you just go head to wind and furl the sail manually or is that hard work?

Thank yiu

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2018 7:20 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Davidwd1306 wrote:
I am a newbie and have the revolution mirage 11, I have bought a sail kit and sidekicks for it. I am trying to work out if it’s worth getting the furling kit?
The downside is all the extra hardware to mount on the hull and the extra time setting up to get on the water. Can you just go head to wind and furl the sail manually or is that hard work?

Thank yiu

I got by fine without a furler for years. I'd launch with the sail furled and then use my big toe to pop the bungie while pedaling into the wind to unfurl the sail. I could even replace the bungie cord with my big toe. Furling the sail without a furler on the water was no fun if the wind kicked up, but it's doable. The problem was that if the wind was really strong, I'd need to wrap the sail around the mast instead of rolling by hand, which required that the main sheet be unrigged for my butt to get wet when I scooched forward to the mast. This also meant that I could not unfurl the sail again without getting out of the kayak to rig the main sheet.

Since I got a furler, I'd never think of going without. Being able to easily partially furl or reef the sail if conditions deteriorate is a huge benefit and it the weather really goes bad, I can roll it up in seconds without unrigging the main sheet or getting my butt wet.