Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 2:16 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:22 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hello all!

So I've been sailing for about 14 years and raced very competitively for at least 5 of those years in both 16's and an f18 or two once in a blue moon. I took about a 3 year hiatus though and am finally really starting to get back into just "fun sailing" again and have been thinking about making the upgrade from my old 16 to maybe a higher end cat like the Tiger. The F18's I've sailed in the past were so much fun it was unreal, and the idea of getting back into one of them again really has me thinking...

However, before I pull the trigger on something like this I was hoping I could get a few questions answered. First, how solo-able is the tiger? I almost always sail with a crew, but there are plenty of days that the weather is perfect and I cant find anyone to come with me... So, I was curious if something like the tiger, or wildcat for that matter, is a boat that can really be single-manned.

Second, I was wondering about maintenance and general upkeep of these boats. Do they generally require a lot of constant money being put into the boat? If so, about how much per year do you think it would cost to upkeep a Tiger or Wildcat? (not including boat storage and such)

Finally, how worth it do you think an F18 is if it probably wont be raced very often? Dont get me wrong, I absolutely plan to race it when I have time...but the amount of fun I've had on those boats just makes me think how incredible it would be to just fly around on one weekend after weekend. However, if there is a strong opinion here that these boats are really only to be used as racing boats and aren't really worth the price tag otherwise, I'd love to hear those opinions!

Cheers all,

Luc

PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:39 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Hello Luc,