Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:42 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:03 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:57 am
Posts: 4
Hello, first post here but it's quite a long time a read this beautiful forum!
I have bought, last year, a used adventure island kayak. I think it's one of the oldest models, because it has not the "rotating" daggerboard but this one

Image

my question is: can I buy and use the hobie spinnaker kit with this kayak? The shop actually thinks not, but is not completely sure.
Thanks for your help


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 2:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 12:44 pm
Posts: 13294
Location: Oceanside, California
Yes, the spinnaker will work with this older Island model.

_________________
Matt Miller
Director of Parts and Accessory Sales
Warranty and Technical Support
Hobie Cat USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 3:52 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:57 am
Posts: 4
That’s great to know! So does the spinnaker kit work with any island model? The shop owner was worried about the shorter mast on the older island model.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:41 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 12:44 pm
Posts: 13294
Location: Oceanside, California
Any Adventure model... older or newer. The mast height is not that different. You might have to have a sail loft modify the top of the sail. The sail has to be below the mast top by a few inches. Would be adding a bit of webbing or cutting the sail short of the top to allow the masthead swivel to fit.

_________________
Matt Miller
Director of Parts and Accessory Sales
Warranty and Technical Support
Hobie Cat USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 10:45 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:57 am
Posts: 4
How can I notice if I need to modify the sail or not?
Can you post some link or picture that may clarify this?
Thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 11, 2020 10:19 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 12:44 pm
Posts: 13294
Location: Oceanside, California
The mast topper has to have room to slide over the top few (3-4) inches of mast.

Image

If the sail is all the way to the top... it would not fit.

Image

_________________
Matt Miller
Director of Parts and Accessory Sales
Warranty and Technical Support
Hobie Cat USA


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 16, 2020 2:48 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:57 am
Posts: 4
Thank you so much!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
© Hobie Cat Company. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group