Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:35 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 11:04 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Hello, newbie question here... I am sure my question is a frequent one, and yet I wasn't able to find it in the forum (the search function seems a little finicky, to say the list)

I have been launching my TI from a floating slip for the last six months. Now I got a trailer.

I can't leave the boat assembled with the akas folded when not in use, because that pushes the amas backwards, further back than the hull, and the contraption doesn't fit in my garage. By taking the akas out, I can slide the amas forward and solve the problem.

My question is whether I could/should assemble the boat (with folded akas) for transportation, after I get it out of the garage. So far I have not, but that adds a few steps upon arrival to the beach - namely inserting akas and amas (albeit with the benefit of not having to carry the whole thing for the 100 yards or so that it takes to get to the water).

So, do you:
* Trailer the boat assembled, akas folded, or
* Trailer the three components in stand-alone mode, without the akas?

Thanks for taking the time to read this post :)

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 1:44 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Welcome Zorzal,
I trailer the TI fully assembled with aka folded. To launch I slide the entire unit back far enough to fit a C-Tug cart under the rear drivewell and then roll it off the trailer.
What I don’t get is why your ama extend beyond the hull when folded? As you can see in this pic the folded ama are well short of the end of the hull. I’ve not heard of this change. What year TI do you have?

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:16 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Thanks, Stingry, for responding.