Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Wed Oct 28, 2020 10:45 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:51 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:31 pm
Posts: 4
Does the 'bullet skimmer transducer" (new model Lawrence hook2) fits the built-in transducer mount of my PA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:13 am 
Offline
Hobie Fish Tech / Moderator

Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 8:20 am
Posts: 430
Yes, it will work. This transducer is a transom mount style, which the standard Lowrance Ready plate on Hobie kayaks accepts.

_________________
Howie Strech
Associate Product Manager - Fishing Accessories
Hobie Cat USA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:38 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:35 am
Posts: 2
Will the Lowrance Hook2 Splitshot transducer fit my Hobie Compass?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:48 pm 
Offline
Hobie Fish Tech / Moderator

Joined: Wed May 11, 2016 8:20 am
Posts: 430
Yes, the Bullet and Splitshot will fit to our standard Lowrance Ready plate just like before, but the TripleShot will need the TotalScan transducer mounting plate and an adapter for mounting (not yet available).

_________________
Howie Strech
Associate Product Manager - Fishing Accessories
Hobie Cat USA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:29 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:35 am
Posts: 2
As usual, thanks for the fast and direct response. Keep up the good work Hobie. That's why I have a Hobie.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:29 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Admiral

Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 7:14 am
Posts: 161
Location: Wilmington, NC
HStrech wrote:
Yes, the Bullet and Splitshot will fit to our standard Lowrance Ready plate just like before, but the TripleShot will need the TotalScan transducer mounting plate and an adapter for mounting (not yet available).

I have a 2012 PA14 with no Lowrance Ready plate. I mounted a Lowrance elite 4x dsi transducer through the left rear scupper hole using the Hobie/Lowrance scupper mounting kit.
I looked at the Hook2 transducer & it is about 2 inches wide vs the 1/2 inch diameter of the dsi transducer (which fits nicely into the crevice formed by the hull shape). I have used it for 5 years now with little to no issues with damage to the transducer due to sand bars or marsh grass. I am interested in upgrading to the Hook2 but am uncertain how its larger transducer will fit & perform in the salt marsh.

I am wondering if anyone has mounted the wider transducer on the older model PA's.

_________________
PA 14; 2012
Cape Fear River - NC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:57 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 7:36 pm
Posts: 1
Wish I had seen this before I bought a pair of hook2 TripleShot for our pair of PA 14’s. Do you know when the adapter will be available? Or is it now?

Found!!!

BerleyPro - Hobie - Tripleshot Ready Transducer Mount


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 7:52 pm 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 12:10 pm
Posts: 1
Is there an H-Rail adapter for the Hook 2 base? I have the Hook 2, and purchased a Hobie H-Rail Mounting Plate 84622001, but the plate isn't big enough to fit the Lowrance base.

For those looking for the answer to this question, 72023060 RAM 1" or 72023061 RAM 1.5". Think I am gonna hack up one of my wife's cutting boards and make the mounting plate work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Lowrance Hook 2
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:14 am 
Offline
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:00 am
Posts: 1
What are your thoughts on using the BerleyPro vs the Hobie Tripleshot Ready Transducer Mount. Does the transducer need covering like with the Berkeley or is exposed ok with the Hobie version? I'm leaving towards Hobie since Hobie stuff typically works and is well thought out. However I'm not seeing many reviews.

I am so debating mounting the display on H rails (will need to purchase) or on the sail mount. Sail mount is clean and out of the way but also further away too much and make adjustments. May have to try both! :)
Thanks JD
Proud new owner of a 2015 Outback


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
© Hobie Cat Company. All rights reserved.
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group