Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:54 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun May 22, 2005 9:22 am 
Site Rank - Captain

After having heard and read about any number of catamarans flipping while being (securely) tied down to their trailers.....I wondered: What would be the best way ----absent putting in earth anchors----to keep a trailered CAT (with its mast raised) from flipping over while it is being stored outside between sailings?

Not being an engineer, I have no way of caulculating what the amount of ballast (weight) that would be required to keep the mast from pulling the boat over in high (say summer gusts not to exceep 80 MPH) over. I also wondered how helpful it might be to add outriggers at the front of the boat trailer....so that the trailer would have 5 points of contact...not the more typical 3.

Lastly, if worse came to worse, I could always add additional bags of sand inside my, already over stuffed, cat box.

Let me know your thoughts!

Paul

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 8:49 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Hey there Paul,

I have been at Assateague in near hurricane conditions, mast up, tied to the trailer, and not had the boat flip. Similarly, beached boats stayed put. Some of the sailors took their tramps off so that may have helped. The reason mine was on the trailer was that I was planning to evacuate inland but the road was blocked and we had to stay put. It was frightening but makes a cool story :shock:

I'm not saying that it couldn't or hasn't happened, just that I've never seen it. I suppose you could use the same system that small-plane pilots use: drive some spikes and tie everthing down. Rebar and rope.

Have a Hobie day!

-Stephen

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2005 10:16 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Yeah bro, most people I know just use the screw-in doggie stake. I think one on either side of the boat should be good for 80mph, but don't quote me on that. :)