Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 4:18 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:15 pm 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Hey all. i know this is a very popular question and i know people will be wondering why am i posting this then but want as many opinions as possible. i am new to hobie sailing actually have never sailed one but it looks like tons of fun and i want to buy one i am 15 6'2" 205 pounds on a good day and am new to sailing self taught on a sunfish but want to get more into sailing. i am looking at the hobie 14 and 16 and want to spend about 500-700 on a decent one. i found a 14 on craigslist with sails, trailer, beach wheels, good condition ready to sail for for $550. i have noticed the 16 to be more expensive and more desirable. i will be sailing in the bay and possibly with one friend at a time occasionally a total of about 400 pounds but not all the time. i love going fast but want a boat that is not to hard to handle solo but is always a blast to use. what do you recommend i do. and I'm not afraid to get wet.

PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:14 pm 
Site Rank - Admiral

i think a 16 would be a MUCH better boat and if you do find a GREAT deal on a 14 you would need it to be a turbo.

1983 Hobie 16 Cat fever #55697
2008 Laser Radial/4.7 #190471
S.S.S.
S.Y.S.P

PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2012 6:13 am 
Site Rank - Old Salt

A 16 sounds like it will be a good fit for you, but try to scrape up more money to buy one that is over $1000 for safety reasons. A $500 boat would make a better parts boat.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:43 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

H16 bro!

H14 is made for one guy at about 150lbs