Hobie Alter inducted into the National Sailing Hall of Fame


Hobie Alter’s contributions to the sailing world were recognized last Sunday in San Diego with his induction to the National Sailing Hall of Fame. Hobie was among fourteen other inductees making up the first class of inductees.
Joining Hobie were, Ted Turner, Dennis Conner, the late Capt. Charlie Barr, the late Capt. Nathanael G. Herreshoff, Ted Hood, Gary Jobson, Buddy Melges, the late Emil "Bus" Mosbacher Jr., the late Olin Stephens and the late Harold Vanderbilt. Lowell North, the founder of North Sails, Paul Cayard, Betsy Alison of Newport, R.I., the US Sailing Team paralympic coach and five-time Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year; and the late Joshua Slocum, who sailed alone around the world in the late 1890s. Slocum disappeared at sea in 1908.
Every living inductee attended. The posthumous inductees were represented by descendants
 “A lot of people used our toys,” Hobie said Sunday. “The main reason we made them is so we could use them.”
The National Sailing Hall of Fame is an undertaking to recognize Americans who have made outstanding contributions to the sport of sailing, and is central to the mission of the National Sailing Center & Hall of Fame which was formed in 2005 with plans to establish a permanent facility on the historic waterfront of Annapolis, Maryland.