Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 12:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 9:43 am 
Site Rank - Deck Hand

Caution - this may get long, but I hope you'll get a laugh out of it. A small note - I'm new to Hobie's after learning to sail in daysailors. Given my luck and summer winds, I've never sailed in the Hobie in anything more than 10 mph.

I wake up early and get out on the water after a cold front has passed thru the night before, and is continuing to hang on. Should be a nice windy (and cloudy and cold) day. I rig and launch and I'm not disappointed. Myself and 2 crew on a Hobie 18 are attempting to sail 9 miles 1 way to one of the lake erie islands. I had alloted up to 4 hours for each way, so as to not have to worry about darkness or light winds, etc. After dodging boats in the channel for awhile, we fly past all the big sailing yachts, and for a moment I'm happy I don't own the 40 ft monohull. Out on the lake, the wind increases to 20+ mph, and waves are now 4-6 feet. The 18 is performing amazingly, although it's throwing huge amounts of water up onto the tramp soaking us all. As we bear down on the island, the crew begins to complain of the cold and asks to turn back. Now here's where it all goes downhill.