Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Mon May 20, 2024 1:14 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Sealing mast, worth it?
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 2:08 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Hi all,

Boss walked into my cube today, handed me a $2400 check for holiday bonus. Its all going to go into my boat.

I'll be buying a few things (yay! I'll finally have beach wheels!) and repairing others. I currently have a baby bob on the top and all the other racers around here say its slowing me down ALOT on the racecourse. They have all told me to seal the mast.

I read some of the previous posts about mast sealing, and have seen mixed results. Some people say your boat can still turtle, others say it won't. Plus, I'm new to boat ownership, so I don't know everything there is to know about H16s yet. A few questions:

1) Will it keep the boat from turtleing like the float does? If not, how much time would this give me until the mast goes underwater?
2) What materials will I need in order to seal the mast?
3) Any tips on how to do it, problem areas I should watch out for? Places I shouldn't spray the (I'm assuming silicone) sealant? (Basically, how to do a great job instead of a good or mediocre one).

Merry Christmas and happy boat maintenance season!
-Evan

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 2:16 pm 
Site Rank - Captain

Oh, and how long does this last? Will I have to reseal the mast in a few years?

-Evan

PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2015 2:17 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Wish I had a boss like that ! Well done.

See if you can find the post by Matt Bounds about his adventures at the ? 1997 ? Hobie 17 Nationals in San Francisco, and his story of a leaky mast on a chartered H17.
After that, you'll understand why your mast should be perfectly sealed if you decide to take off the Hobie Bob.
Basically, you use silicone.

We sail in relatively shallow waters, so I keep my Bob on at all times. If we ever do turtle, I do NOT want to lose my mast or comp tip.