Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Fri Apr 26, 2024 2:29 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Newbie question
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 11:31 am 
Site Rank - Captain

Hi, I am new to sailing, sailed a few times in ocean with other people, want to try it myself. I have had the opportunity to control the Hobie 16 once, but my question is when sailing downwind & turn where the wind is blowing at the boat at a right angle, how do you reduce the chance of the boat getting blown over ? Laymens terms please. thanks

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 12:58 pm 
Site Rank - Old Salt

Safety first. Never sail alone. That is, sail solo on the boat by all means, but travel in company: travel in the company of others, buddies, friends, competitors etc. even if they are on powerboats or kayaks or surfboards. If you insist on sailing alone, take along appropriate equipment (cell phone in waterproof case, VHF radio, IPIRB), dress well, take provisions, and make sure you can right the H16 by yourself. Also make sure that someone on shore is keeping an eye open for you. Practice before you go out. Even the Worrell 1000 folks have support.

Next, check the weather/tide reports.

Now, with the wind blowing at right angles to the boat, you are 'running'. If you want to turn upwind so that you will have the wind coming at you at about a 45 degree angle, then merely turn into the wind. If the wind is too strong for you, release the mainsheet, the rope that controls the mainsail. If the wind is still too strong, let the traveller out, first 6" then 12" then 18", until you feel you are under control. Move the jib travellers towards the outside, that is closer to the hulls. Hiking out helps, bur I suggest you tackle the basics of sailing before you try the 'Two Step Tango'.

Once you have turned upwind, or into the wind, you will likely end up having to sheet in, or tighten the ropes that control the main sail and the jib.