Return to Hobie.com
Hobie Forums
It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 10:17 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Is Hobie for me?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 8:23 am 
Site Rank - Captain

I have read over the forums seeking similar advice, but have not really seen a discussion that fits my circumstance. I hope you are willing to help.

I am a young attorney living in Tulsa, Oklahoma and have a 7 year old boy that loves the out doors and a wife that is into the outdoors also. I used to go sailing on a large mono haul a friend owned and loved it, but never really got to help that much (it was like a 44' boat on lake Michigan). My wife and I have been on large cat's and other larger sailing vessels in the Keys and loved it. Nearby to our house someone is selling a mono hull for $2X,000 and when we drive by we lament about wishing we could afford it.

So when Tulsa's Hobie Fleet 25 had a "learn to sail" day we jumped at the chance. The family piled into the Nissan and headed to one of many nearby lakes (4 large lakes within an hour of my house). And we had a blast! We got to sail/help sail a 16, 18 and 20. Everyone really enjoyed themselves even though the winds were only 6-8 mph.

So, now we are left considering whether or not to run out and buy a Hobie, and if so, what size?

That's where you come in:

1) I want a boat that I can take out my small family and another couple on if we wanted to. I understand we wont be breaking any speed records but just to sail around a bit.

2) Neither my wife nor I would want to jump into racing straight away. However, it is likely that down the road we would get more involved and would at least like the possibility to be there.

3) I'm 27. I kind of want a fast boat. But at the same time I do not have much experience and have heard that something like a Hobie 20 is too much boat for us.